Young Filmmakers Recognized in Cine Paulino Film Fest

News image

by The Paulinian

Date: May 3, 2018Posted by: Elmgay Valeriano

The Senior High School Department of St. Paul University Manila held its Cine Paulino Film Festival on 6 November 2017, capping off the week-long Senior High School events and festivities.

The Cine Paulino Film Festival featured 13 films from the 13 SHS sections. The film competition recognized the talents of Paulinian SHS students in media and film making, and in the expression of social concerns as the films revolve around social issues they chose to represent.

The film entry of 11-St. Martin entitled “Dayo” won as the Best Film for Cine Paulino 2017. The film talks about the struggles of two brothers from the barrio as they navigate the city in search of their father. Second placer was “Taos Puso” from 11-St. Benedict, which features a heartwarming letter of a daughter to her estranged father. In third place was 11-St. Jude’s “Balintataw”, a story of two siblings adjusting to the deaths of their parents and the psychological trauma that it entails.

The Cine Paulino Film Festival was also a culmination of the students' learnings in the Media and Information Technology subject, under the guidance and supervision of Ms. Sheila Habab and Mr. Antonio Jose Galauran, Jr.

Other awardees of the Cine Paulino are as follows:
Best Screenplay: Exodo Viente (St. Ignatius)
Best Cinematography: Dayo (St. Martin)
Best Production Design: Barya (St. Blaise)
Best Film Editing: Dayo (St. Martin)
Best Director: Roel Masagca (Dayo; St. Martin)
Best Actor: Rene Karlo Nachor (Busal; St. Dominic)
Best Actress: Jenie Ruth Gita (Beauty Behind Madness; St. Augustine)
Best Actor in a Supporting Role: (Balintataw; St. Jude)
Best Actress in a Supporting Role (Katwiran; St. Andrew)
Paulinian Values Award: Positibo (St. John)
Social Justice Award: Mulat (St. Thomas)
Citation for Ingenuity: Huling Hapunan (St. Francis)
New Wave Award: Kurap (St. Patrick)

Photo in caption: Masagca, the director of "Dayo," gives his acceptance speech. (c) The Paulinian